## **UIC Law Review**

Volume 21 | Issue 4

Article 9

Summer 1988

# Employer's Liability for Unauthorized Administration of an AIDs Test and Disclosure of the Results, 21 J. Marshall L. Rev. 937 (1988)

George B. Trubow

Follow this and additional works at: https://repository.law.uic.edu/lawreview

Part of the Legal Education Commons, and the Legal Profession Commons

### **Recommended Citation**

George B. Trubow, Employer's Liability for Unauthorized Administration of an AIDs Test and Disclosure of the Results, 21 J. Marshall L. Rev. 937 (1988)

https://repository.law.uic.edu/lawreview/vol21/iss4/9

This Conference Proceeding is brought to you for free and open access by UIC Law Open Access Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in UIC Law Review by an authorized administrator of UIC Law Open Access Repository. For more information, please contact repository@jmls.edu.

## SIXTH ANNUAL JOHN MARSHALL NATIONAL MOOT COURT COMPETITION\*

## EMPLOYER'S LIABILITY FOR UNAUTHORIZED ADMINISTRATION OF AN AIDS TEST AND DISCLOSURE OF THE RESULTS

The John Marshall Law School was once again proud of the participants in this year's John Marshall (formerly Benton) National Moot Court Competition. The Law School gratefully acknowledges the generous contribution of the Belle R. and Joseph H. Braun Fund in support of this year's Competition. The Law School also gratefully acknowledges the contributions by the Benton Foundation over the past five years. That long-term support, an exception to the Foundation's general policy, made it possible to establish this high quality competition.

The prize-winning briefs published here exemplify the hard work and commitment of the teams from 34 law schools throughout the country. The Marshall-Wythe School of Law of the College of William and Mary received the best brief award for the petitioner, and Cleveland-Marshall College of Law of Cleveland State University wrote the best brief for respondent. Marshall-Wythe was represented by L. Lee Byrd, Yvonne T. Griffin, and G. Rodney Young, II. Cleveland-Marshall, which also won first place in the overall Competition, was represented by Matthew W. Nakon, Laura J. Steffe, and Steven R. Yoo. Mr. Young of Marshall-Wythe won the award as best oralist.

The problem posed whether an employer may be held liable for invasion of privacy for testing an employee's blood, obtained during a work-related physical examination, for the presence of AIDS an-

<sup>\*</sup> The John Marshall (formerly Benton) National Moot Court Competition briefs which follow are printed here as they were submitted. Except for a few, obvious typographical errors, no changes have been made and no editing has been done.

tibodies without notifying the employee that this test would be performed. Also, is an employer liable for invading an employee's privacy by disclosing to other businesspersons the fact that the employee tested positive for the AIDS virus? Neither of these issues has yet been resolved by the courts, and both present viable tort liability exposure to employers today.

As in prior competitions, each participating school submitted a brief on behalf of either the petitioner or respondent. Three reviewers, each of whom was either a faculty member or an experienced practitioner, independently graded each brief. A brief's total score was the average of the grades given by the three reviewers. Because our competition emphasizes research and writing, the brief represented 50% of the score awarded to teams in each round; the remaining 50% was awarded for performance in the oral argument. The oral argument score was the average of the total points awarded by each of the judges of the argument.

The oral competition, in which representatives of 34 schools participated, consisted of two preliminary rounds, an octo-final, quarter, semi-final, and final round. Participants argued both sides of the case and competed against different schools in each preliminary round of the argument. Sixteen teams with the highest aggregate oral and brief scores argued in the octo-final rounds; eight teams with the highest aggregate scores advanced to the quarter final rounds; four teams with the highest aggregate scores went to the semi-final rounds; and the two top teams competed in the final argument.

Once again, our outstanding judges enhanced the quality of the Competition. Judges for the 1987 Competition were:

#### FINAL ROUND

Honorable Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice of the Wisconsin Supreme Court, presiding
Honorable James H. Brickley Justice of the Michigan Supreme Court
Honorable Walter J. Cummings Judge of the United States Court of Appeals Seventh Circuit
Honorable Charles R. Norgle Judge of the United States District Court
Honorable Alfred J. Pivarnik Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court

SEMI-FINAL ROUND

Honorable W. W. Renoldson

Chief Justice of the Iowa Supreme Court (Retired), presiding

Honorable M. Jeanne Coyne

Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court

Honorable Michael A. Bilandic

Justice of the Appellate Court of Illinois

#### QUARTER-FINAL ROUND

Honorable James Craven

Justice of the Appellate Court of Illinois (Retired), presiding

Honorable Lawrence D. Inglis

Justice of the Appellate Court of Illinois

Honorable Daniel J. McNamara

Justice of the Appellate Court of Illinois, presiding

Honorable Stephen A. Schiller

Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County

Dean Leonard Mandell

Northern Illinois University School of Law

Professor Michael L. Closen

The John Marshall Law School

To all of our judges, we give our heartfelt thanks.

The enormous success of the John Marshall National Moot Court Competition could not be realized without the National Moot Court Committee's able administration: Professor Ardath A. Hamann, Competition Coordinator; Associate Dean Helen M. Thatcher; Professor Ralph Ruebner; Professor Michael P. Seng; Mr. David J. Kupets, Chief Justice, Moot Court Executive Board; and, Mr. Edwin R. Cummings, Executive Justice, Moot Court Executive Board. As the Committee Chairperson, I thank each of them for their unrewarded sacrifices. Also, special thanks to the Moot Court Executive Board associate justices and a host of John Marshall Law School students who contributed to the Competition's success.

George B. Trubow\*\*

1988]

<sup>\*\*</sup> George B. Trubow is a Professor of Law and Director of the Center for Informatics Law at The John Marshall Law School, Chicago, Illinois.